Weekly Reflection 14: Reading Lesson-E1

Standard

I have a student who I work with on math, reading and writing. On assessments over the last several years, she has scored at least one year below grade level consistently. I work with her six times a week for between 30 and 45 minutes. When splitting up the time between subjects I usually spend four periods a week on math and two on reading and writing. This past week I met with my coordinator to look at some of the data I have been collecting on her. Through the course of this conversation it came up that this student had testing done (last year) through the public schools and qualified for SPED in reading and writing, but not in math. This was not initially at the forefront of my mind since the parents had turned down services through the public schools. During the conversation, my coordinator pointed out to me the importance of addressing these subjects more often, as they would in the public schools. This is not to say that math should not be addressed, but that if she is qualifying for SPED in the public schools in reading and writing, I really need to be spending more time and be using a curriculum to improve her skills in those areas.

This lesson was my first lesson with her since the discussion with my coordinator.

Anticipatory Set: We will discuss what are character traits and use her mom as our example. I will ask her if her mom is nice (for example), she will say yes, and I will say what does your mom do that let’s you know she is nice? We will continue to use her mom while we go through several examples of character traits.

Statement of Objective: The the student will be able to identify 3 character traits of either the mother or Ermaline and the student will use evidence to support her findings. This will be written on the board and we will review it together

Input: I will remind the student to pause when she reads a section that indicates a personality trait of the mother or Ermaline. We will begin reading through the text together.

Guided Practice: As the student reads, I will pause her in her reading of the text when we find a selection that indicates a personality trait of the mother or Ermaline. I will use this as an example of what she should be looking for as we continue to read together.

Independent Practice:  As we continue to read, she will identify personality traits of the mother or Ermaline and use evidence from the text to support

At the end of the lesson, the student needs to state the target and give her input how she learned the lesson.

We used a book and worksheet from readinga-z.com for this assignment. I also found that this book level was a little high, which made her comprehension lower, which made finding character traits particularly difficult for her. She also could have used an entire lesson on character traits prior to this lesson.

Regie reading picture 1

 

 

Exemplify professionally-informed, growth-centered practice; this experience informed me and helped my professional growth in how to best teach this student under these circumstances.

Leave a comment