6150 Blog Reflection #1

Standard

Today in class we learned several teaching strategies. One of my favorite parts of how this was taught is that the instructor used the strategies he was recommending during class. This way he was also showing us the strategy of modeling in addition to all the others.

We learned about an activity called a Readaround. I really liked this experience. At first I was not sure how I would really learn with only a little information being shared about each person, but I learned so much about why the people in the program are there. I loved that not only did I learn a new strategy, but it was so cool how it actually worked. So much information from so little!

We also learned about think, pair, share- this is a great strategy that allows all students to participate in discussion in some way.

Wait time is also a strategy that I like to employ. It allows each student to think about a question posed, even if not everyone shares.

Here are some other strategies we learned in class today.

Half sheet of paper

Questioning

Set time limits

Large group recap

Leave a comment